#Publicationday #BookReview In This Foreign Land by Suzie Hull @SuzieHull1 @books_dash

What they say:

‘I beg of you this one thing – that if I should perish here, in this foreign land, that you will look after her.’


March, 1914.
When talented artist Isobel embarks on a journey to Egypt, it’s to reunite her best friend Alice with her husband, Wilfred – and to use the stunning sights of Cairo as inspiration for her own paintings.

A whirlwind romance was the last thing she expected, but when Isobel meets Wilfred’s handsome brother, Edward, neither can deny the strong connection between them – especially when unexpected tragedy strikes, leaving them all reeling.

Just as they get to grips with their grief, WW1 erupts, and the lovers are forced to separate. They promise to meet again in London. But when Edward is listed as ‘missing – presumed dead’ only weeks after landing in France, Isobel is devastated, unmarried and on the brink of ruin. She has only one way to save her honour… but it means betraying the love she holds so dear.

A heartrending and thrilling WW1 romance, In This Foreign Land is the stunning new debut from Suzie Hull, for fans of Kate Hewitt, Shirley Dickson and Kate Eastham.

The Review: We always begin these reviews by stating that I actually don’t read this genre a lot. There’s times I feel like I’m doing the author a disservice by saying this- as if telling their audience I can’t really judge the book. This is even more apparent in cases like this, where I adore a book so much and think about it for so long after reading! I read and devoured this book in small chunks as I wanted to truly savour it, knowing that from the off I was all in for the story of vibrant character Isobel, who is very much restrained by the norms of the time she’s living in. I fell for Isobel straight away and rooted for the journey she went on, including a physical journey that was so tangible it truly transported me away. I adored this book- the settings, the attention to vivid detail, the gorgeous romance. Very much recommended and one I’ll be shouting about! Thanks to the publisher for this book in return for an honest review. Rating: 5/5

Amazon  https://bit.ly/shfland 

 Kobo  https://bit.ly/2YKpo5p

About the author

Suzie Hull lives in Northern Ireland with her family and numerous rescue cats. She originally dreamt of being a ballet dancer, but instead trained as a Montessori Nursery teacher and has spent the last thirty years working with children. She has always had an enduring passion for history and books and since she came from a long line of creative women it was only a matter of time before she turned to writing her own. A member of the RNA, In This Foreign Land is her debut novel.

Connect with Suzie on social media:

Twitter @SuzieHull1  Insta @suziehull1  FB @suzie.hull.author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s