The Bad Mother’s Book Club by Keris Stainton @Keris @bookouture #HungryReadersGames

43844126._SY475_

Purchase link

Meet Emma, the new Mum on the block. Since moving to the Liverpudlian seaside after her husband’s career change, her life consists of the following: long walks on the beach (with the dog), early nights (with the kids) and Netflix (no chill).

Bored and lonely, when Emma is cordially invited to the exclusive cool school-mums’ book club, she thinks her luck may finally be about to change. But she soon finds the women of the club aren’t quite what they seem – and after an unfortunate incident involving red wine and a white carpet, she finds herself unceremoniously kicked out.

The answer? Start her own book club – for bad mothers who just want to drink wine and share stories. But will this town let two book clubs exist? Or is there only room for one queen of the school gates…?

Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks.

The Review: You possibly know by now my opinions on Keris Stainton, who is without a doubt one of my favourite writers (and someone I hope somebody will someday compare my books to if I’m honest), with books you absolutely lose yourself in, smiling, laughing and sometimes crying as you read. I look forward to each and every book and fly through them all.

So theres my intro. Now. I ADORED this book!! It is the story of Emma, who is trying to fit in as a parent in a school where there is a certain hierarchy that she has yet to learn. In this school the equivalent to the high school cool girls come in the form of a group that have a very select book club, led by the designer clad wife of a top footballer.

The book however comes from various viewpoints, as we follow the people from the book club, who are definitely not all they seem. Ironically this book reminded me of Big Little Lies, extremely ironic because (stops to assess situation and see whether should actually say this) I’ve never read the book, just seen the series (I know!)

With drama that had me catching my breath, comedy that made me snort so loudly, and vivid, excellent descriptions and show stopping romance and characters I absolutely flew through this book (half on Sunday, half Monday if you’re keeping track for the Hungry Readers Games 2020!), in particular hearting and savouring from the actual set up of their book club on. Cannot recommend enough! Thanks so much to Bookouture and Netgalley for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating 5/5

 

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s