#BlogTour #BookReview The Staycation by Michele Gorman @MicheleGormanUK @orionbooks #TheStaycation


Buy link


What they say: Two families. One cancelled flight. And a last minute house swap…
Things get desperate for strangers Harriet and Sophie when they become stranded with their families in Heathrow’s Terminal 5. Each woman has her own reason for really really really needing the family holiday they’ve anticipated for months. But Iceland’s volcano has other plans for them. When their flights are cancelled, the families swap houses and discover that sometimes the best things in life happen close to home.
This ash cloud has a silver lining, even if no one can quite see it yet.
For fans of Sarah Morgan and Sue Moorcroft.

The Review

There is always something to be said for a book that, as you open up your blog to write about it, you fondly smile and nod in remembrance of the book. This is one such book. They say about reading being escapism, this book was a great example of this.

I settled into this straight away, as we met Harriet, who was very much on edge at London’s Heathrow airport. I was all in for the family interactions and then, suddenly, there was another group, a family different to theirs, whereas Harriet is having to do everything, this lady they meet seems to be part of a family with a man who is doing everything for his wife, and this both intrigues and flummoxes Harriet.

There is a cancellation and suddenly Harriet is going to London and our new family, led by Sophie, is off to Gloucestershire to a little village.

I loved this book! With it’s contrast between families and homes, the excellent theme of how appearances can be deceiving, the great characters and just the general warmth of a book where you smiled and nodded along, as each character learned not only about each others lives, but about themselves too and I was hooked. I’ll admit I definitely felt an affinity to one character over the other, (which I did feel guilty about actually!) All in all I loved everything about this book. Another sparkling feel good gem by the legend that is Michele Gorman. Thanks to Orion for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 5/5

About the author


Michele is a USA Today bestselling author and has sold more than 450,000 copies globally across all formats, with seven novels published by Penguin Random House and HarperCollins. She was born in the US and now makes London home, writing comedies under her own name and cosy rom-coms as Lilly Bartlett.

Website: www.michelegorman.co.uk
Instagram: michelegormanuk
Twitter: @MicheleGormanUK
Facebook

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s