Escape to Giddeywell Grange by Kim Nash @KimTheBookworm @HeraBooks #BookReview

escape-to-giddywell-grange-cover.jpg

 

What they say: After having her heart broken by boyfriend Jamie, successful businesswoman Maddy Young threw herself into her career, not realising how she was neglecting her friends and family. But when she’s made redundant from the job she loved so much, Maddy takes her wounded pride back to her childhood home – the village of Giddywell.

With time on her hands being the only thing that Maddy does have, when best friend Beth, needs help with her doggy daycare business at Giddywell Grange, she’s the obvious choice to help out.

Soon, Maddy is swapping designer handbags for doggy poo bags and Jimmy Choo heels for wellies… and when she meets furry friend Baxter the Cockerpoo, Maddy learns that love can come from unexpected places.

With Beth’s brother – and Maddy’s schoolgirl crush – Alex, back from the States, she soon realises he still makes her heart flip. But when Jamie crashes back into her world, with an offer which looks too good to refuse, will Maddy go back to her old life? Or will she discover that the key to her future lies in making other people happy?

An uplifting romantic comedy that will warm your heart – perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Milly Johnson and Lucy Dillon.

Purchase link

The Review: You’ll remember I read and loved Amazing Grace by the lovely Kim Nash, and was thrilled that there was a new author of heart-warming reads in the house. And with this, her second book, again I was not disappointed.

We meet Maddy, euphoric, buoyant and starry-eyed as she awaits news of a possible promotion. I’ve been here before in Rom com land, but very rarely with a character who was so so sure and, when the inevitable happened, I was gutted for her. This led into a part of a book that brought so many emotions forward as she recounted a number of regrets that have regularly visited me, that of not seeing family and friends enough. There was also the regret of never having to be able to get a dog and I, being the immature sod that I am, spent most of the book screaming at her ‘just get a dog!!’

This was a book of change, choc full of Maddy seeing what life was like when you were living it, meeting and talking to people, helping out and doing good deeds. With this came so many mottos and advice and I relished it all and even wrote down a few nuggets. I loved Maddy’s journey, although I had to slide my feet into her shoes to empathise with her in the man department especially after tweaking my own ideals to understand her obsession with work!! The dogs of course, made the book and helped me sail through this feel-good, heart warming, joyous read and I’d have taken even more doggy antics and love and read on and on! So enjoyable and recommended and thanks to Hera books  for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating:4.5/5

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s