The Mum Who Got Her Life Back by Fiona Gibson

themumwho

Length: 400 pages

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say: The laugh-out-loud Sunday Times bestseller is back and funnier than ever! Perfect for fans of WHY MUMMY DRINKS.

When her 18-year-old twins leave for university, single mum Nadia’s life changes in ways she never expected: her Glasgow flat feels suddenly huge, laundry doesn’t take up half her week, and she no longer has to buy ‘the Big Milk’. After almost two decades of putting everyone else first, Nadia is finally taking care of herself. And with a budding romance with new boyfriend Jack, She’s never felt more alive.

That is, until her son Alfie drops out of university, and Nadia finds her empty nest is empty no more. With a heartbroken teenager to contend with, Nadia has to ask herself: is it ever possible for a mother to get her own life back? And can Jack and Nadia’s relationship survive having a sulky teenager around?

A gloriously funny and uplifting new book perfect for fans of Gill Sims and Jill Mansell.

The Review: So I’ll start by pointing you to previous gushes about one of my favourite authors. There’s As Good As It Gets, which was the first time I came across Ms. Gibson, then  The Mum Who’d had enough , and then I was lucky enough to come across more in a series of Valentines shorts here . From the second I read my first Fiona Gibson book I sat up, revelling in the fact that I’d found someone that wrote rom coms that were about the everyday and yet written in such a way that sparkled, made you smile, laugh and nod along for the duration of the journey (my sole goal in my own books and the reason why I actually always quote Ms. Gibson as my writing inspiration.)

And here is no exception as we follow Nadia, who thought her world would fall apart when her 18 year old twins left, but who is starting to be able to list the ways it’s actually not shaping up to be so bad ( we are privy to these lists throughout the book).

When we met Jack, who’s got a teen daughter and runs a local charity shop, I was pretty much taken straight away. The shop itself contained the loveliest mish mash of people and beyond added to the humour. Jack was just one of the nicest guys and I found myself thrilled when they bumped into each other in Lush, where he now thinks she works. I’ll admit while I loved seeing them together, I was hankering for some drama ( in the slightest way this book was the teeniest amount less fast moving than her others) which arrived in the form of lovelorn Alfie, Nadia’s son, who I have to admit was the only character I wanted to throttle!

Nadia then finds herself thrown back into a tip-toeing, whispering mother again, suddenly having to perform all of her duties again for her vegan ( but in a totally non accepting way of others), forlorn, moody son. Of course, the requirement to keep him happy pretty much puts everything else in Nadia’s life into a spin and leads to a totally enjoyable, read over multiple nights so I could properly savour and adore it, hilarious and romantic read that is totally recommended. I loved this book and can’t wait to get back to Ms. Gibson’s back catalogue (I’ve a huge number to read on my Kindle for when I have a bit of time!)  Thanks so much to Avon and Netgalley for this brilliant book in return for an honest review.

Rating:5/5

Published by brmaycock

Hi I'm Berni and I live in the Midlands of Ireland with my brilliantly out there husband, four great little men and four cats! I write sunshiny, feel good romantic comedies and chick lit. You may have come here expecting a book blog. Hopefully you won't mind joining me for various musings on my rom com and chick lit books and series. There'll still be some reviews of course, and you can always look over the hundreds I've blogged about over the years. See you inside!

8 thoughts on “The Mum Who Got Her Life Back by Fiona Gibson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: