The Cornish Village School-Second Chances by Kitty Wilson

cornish2

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say: Ex-ballerina and single mum Sylvie is in trouble. Juggling her ballet classes in the nearest town, preparing shy Sam for his first day at Penmenna Village school and trying to finally move out from the farm she shares with her cantankerous Uncle Tom means life is anything but easy.

Television Journalist Alex is facing challenges of his own. Seeking a calmer environment for his newly adopted daughter, Ellie, he’s swapped reporting in war zones for the school PTA in quiet Penmenna, where his best friend Chase has persuaded him to start laying some roots.

Fireworks ignite when Sylvie and Alex meet but as Ellie and Sam become instant best friends, will they be able to keep things strictly platonic for the sake of the children?

The second book in the feel-good and rib-tickling Cornish Village School series. Perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant, Holly Martin and Cathy Bramley.

The Review: You know something, you all know already that this is going to be a bit of a rave-I adored book one (review here) of this series, and chances were pretty slim that I wasn’t once more going to get all excited by the fact that I now have a new steadfast addition to my ‘must read’ romance authors (yay!).

Anyhoo, on to the story, where we are once again back in Penmenna, not with Rosy Winters (although she has a big part in the book -yessss!!!!). No, this is the story of Alex, an ex foreign correspondent (done expertly, I loved hearing of his time abroad and equally was horrified at both his and daughter Ellie’s story). Alex is just one of the most swoon worthy, lovely characters out there. Then add to this the red haired force of nature that is Sylvie, the one time dancer turned dance teacher and totally dedicated mum to the very cute Sam, and you have nicely subtle but always beautiful fireworks mixed in with nod-along banter and smile all the time fun (I know, I’ll stop soon, I promise!)

There was an overall great mix of Ms. Wilson’s charming settings and swoonerific romance, nicely dotted with heartbreaking drama and absolutely tragic circumstances that were lightened by lovely kiddie moments and great characters that you felt for one minute and wanted to throttle the next. (Exhales, totally spent with lovely charming gushing!;))

Thanks so (so so!) much to Canelo and Netgalley for this wonderful book in return for an honest (and hopefully wonderful) review.

Rating: 5/5

6 Comments

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s