Just for the Holidays by Sue Moorcroft

justfortheholidays

Length: 385 pages

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say:

The #1 bestselling author returns for summer! Grab your sun hat, a cool glass of wine, and the only book you need on holiday…

In theory, nothing could be better than a summer spent basking in the French sun. That is, until you add in three teenagers, two love interests, one divorcing couple, and a very unexpected pregnancy.

Admittedly, this isn’t exactly the relaxing holiday Leah Beaumont was hoping for – but it’s the one she’s got. With her sister Michele’s family falling apart at the seams, it’s up to Leah to pick up the pieces and try to hold them all together.

But with a handsome helicopter pilot staying next door, Leah can’t help but think she might have a few distractions of her own to deal with…

A glorious summer read, for you to devour in one sitting – perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Harriet Evans and Trisha Ashley.

The review: At this stage of my blogging career I  have realised that there are certain authors that it is a crime not to have read and as a rom com blogger this lady was high on my list of authors to get to!

On beginning this book I was actually more struck by how lovely the author came across in this book in her addressing of the readers ( I always take note of the acknowledgments, addressing of readers etc and that puts someone very high up from the off!) and I was thrilled to dive into this, the story of Leah, who ends up in France to help out her sister Michele, whose marriage is struggling (mostly because she has flitted off, even though she’s pregnant, with her new boyfriend!)

I enjoyed all of the characters in their various roles, with a huge thumbs up for some of the loveliest male characters. The setting was so vivid and vibrant and I sat back and enjoyed the lot of it the ups, the downs and above all the chocolate! I will admit it wasn’t always right up my street, at times the amount of detail on everything took over and detracted from the story but in general less description is my preference and I totally agree that it is a read that should definitely be bookmarked for some time off chilling out. And only £1.01 at the time of this review! Thanks so much to Avon and Netgalley for the book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5

Published by brmaycock

Hi I'm Berni and I live in the Midlands of Ireland with my brilliantly out there husband, four great little men and four cats! I write sunshiny, feel good romantic comedies and chick lit. You may have come here expecting a book blog. Hopefully you won't mind joining me for various musings on my rom com and chick lit books and series. There'll still be some reviews of course, and you can always look over the hundreds I've blogged about over the years. See you inside!

4 thoughts on “Just for the Holidays by Sue Moorcroft

  1. Thank you so much for such a great review! What a lovely way for me to start the day. I’m so glad you enjoyed ‘Just for the Holidays’. I love all my heroes but admit to a soft spot for Ronan …

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: