The Cornish Village School-Breaking the rules (Cornish Village School book 1) by Kitty Wilson

thecornishvillageschool

Length: 265 pages

Please note that the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say: Rosy Winter is definitely not looking for love

Following heartbreak, Rosy has rebuilt her life in the beautiful Cornish village of Penmenna. Now, headmistress of the local school, she is living by The Rule: no dating anyone in the village. Easy right? But Rosy Winter has a new neighbour, handsome gardener Matt.

In Penmenna for his new gardening TV show, this guy next door will do everything he can to persuade her to break her rule and win her heart. Meanwhile, Penmenna Village School is threatened with closure and it’s up to Rosy to rally the local community and #SaveOurSchool. Can she bring her worlds together and accept help from the most unlikely of sources? One thing’s for sure… she won’t be giving up without a fight.

This heartwarming romance is perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant, Holly Martin and A. L. Michael.

The Review: And now to another standout book! The blurb tells you everything here-Rosy Winter is a headmistress living in the lovely village of Penmenna. I was taken with Rosy at the start as she sped, without speeding ie trying not to knock anyone down, to get to a meeting. When I say I was taken, the book had me straight away, with a character that seemed to be so in control but so likeable too. And then she went and met another character that screamed ‘I want to get to know him,’ that of Matt, who was introduced to us in a case of mistaken identity.

When a number of schools in the area are tagged to be merged, the people of Penmenna must act to save the school. Cue some excellent characters that at times were completely inappropriate and a group of kids that made me think ‘awwww!’ The settings were gorgeous, the comedy sometimes very understated but extremely well done, the mix-ups smile and nodworthy and romance that I really enjoyed. Highly recommended and I can’t wait to read the next in this series. Thanks sooooooooo (you get it by now I say;)) much to Canelo and Netgalley for this excellent book in return for an honest (and gushy) review.

Rating: 5/5

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s