Her Last Secret by Barbara Copperthwaite

herlast

Length: 382 pages

Please note the cover image leads to a universal Amazon buy link for the book

What they say: Some secrets you can never tell.

Everyone thinks the Thomases are the perfect family: grand London house, gorgeous kids.

They don’t know wife Dominique is a paranoid wreck.
They don’t know husband Ben is trapped in a web of deceit.
They don’t know daughter Ruby lives in fear of the next abusive text.
But someone knows all their secrets.

Can the lies that bind them tear them apart?

A gripping psychological thriller that will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will be hooked.

The Review: You’ll remember I had a good auld gush at The Darkest Lies by this author before (see review here), very much in shock at her amazing imagery, brilliant story-telling, chilling action and (stay with me) readable chick lit type everyday scenarios (I know, it just doesn’t fit in there, and yet it’s true!)

Well, not much has changed since! If you remember I was a blubbering mess at the end of the last book, with shock and spine tingles adjoining, and, after clocking a few of the reviews on this particular book, decided I wasn’t in the right frame of mind to read. It turned out that this book did not make me cry like the last and so I could have read straight off, but I do know a number of other bloggers had said they did cry in it, and I can see why, I was just too taken with the action, so just letting you know!

So this book has two timelines, the run up to Christmas and Christmas day itself. We know that on Christmas day something has happened and are reeled in with the actions of the police, led by Chief Inspector Paul Ogundele (an excellent character, and one I wouldn’t mind being revisited!) as they storm a too quiet suburban family home.

We are shot backward and forward between the lead up, which tells the story of the Thomas family, a family that has a lot of issues (I have never ever come across a family where there were so many thoughts of death!), the perfect mother who has secrets, the teen daughter, Ruby, whose angst is more than that, she is dealing with some pretty tough issues, and the father, Ben, who is ‘The Man,’ a businessman who has gotten to where he is with layers of lies.

I loved the everyday storytelling, and actually at times wished that it was chick lit, and that something horrible wasn’t happening. This book is of course a whodunnit, but actually, the concern throughout is more for the build up as each of the characters get pushed and pushed, and it’s more of a who’s going to crack first! It’s a tough read in places, and horrible, especially when you see that the youngest, Amber, is counting down to the big day, the day when Santa arrives. You are following the timelines so closely, with each visit to Christmas day catching you unawares, that when I got to Christmas day I almost held my breath, such was the expectation. And everything I could have imagined was delivered in one heck of an explosive event. The characters were excellent, and I can’t tell you who my special mention is for, but lets just say my opinion of said person changed, although they were still a bit messed up when it came down to it! I loved this book, and it will, without doubt, be in my best ofs of 2017, my only issues is the same I had with the last-I’d love to have seen some of the aftermath (it was that good!) I fell like this isn’t enough of a gush but it’s all I can give you so I’ll finish up with a ‘go get’ and hope that you do! Thanks so much to Bookouture and Netgalley for this book in return for an honest review.

Rating: 5/5

 

 

Published by brmaycock

Hi I'm Berni and I live in the Midlands of Ireland with my brilliantly out there husband, four great little men and four cats! I write sunshiny, feel good romantic comedies and chick lit. You may have come here expecting a book blog. Hopefully you won't mind joining me for various musings on my rom com and chick lit books and series. There'll still be some reviews of course, and you can always look over the hundreds I've blogged about over the years. See you inside!

One thought on “Her Last Secret by Barbara Copperthwaite

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: